Dear Tiny Baby…

Letters to Ethan. Which he can't read yet. We'll get there eventually.

New Year’s resolutions

Dear Tiny Baby,

Every year, on December 31, the grown-ups all make something called “New Year’s resolutions”. These are promises that we make at the beginning of the year that we intend to keep. We don’t always succeed, but we set these goals to try to motivate ourselves to have a better year than the last: a year that is more productive, more frugal, healthier, more fun, etc.

This year, I am not making any formal resolutions. Usually I would make the “lose 15 pounds by June, pay off credit card, accomplish some other lofty goal like writing a novel” types of resolutions, but this year is a bit different. This year, my only resolution is to be the best mother I can be and not to beat myself up when I make mistakes. That second part is going to be a little bit tricky, but I’m going to do my best.

I can’t believe that in just a few hours, it will be 2012…the year I get to finally meet you, my little Tomato. It’s going to be a challenging time for all of us while Mommy and Daddy learn the ropes of parenting and you get used to being in this big, wide world. But I can tell you one thing that I know for certain: you are going to be so loved. So, so loved – by us, by your grandparents, by all your aunts and uncles and cousins (there are a lot), by all of our friends…there will be love coming from every corner, just for you.

So when Mommy is making that crazy face she makes right before she cries and Daddy is fumbling with the diapers and Gigi is desperately trying to repair something that broke, remember – at the core of all of that is more love than any of us know what to do with.

I love you so much, Ethan, and I can’t wait to meet you.

Here’s to the new year!

Love,
Mommy

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

