Dear Tiny Baby…

Letters to Ethan. Which he can't read yet. We'll get there eventually.

Television

Dear Tiny Baby,

Just wait until you’re old enough to focus your eyes properly and comprehend what words mean. We have a magic box that will blow your tiny mind. It’s called a television, and even though I grew up with one, it still sort of amazes me whenever I watch something on it.

Now, while I am a big fan of introducing kids to television shows and movies – after all, they are a huge part of our culture and a lot of them are really great – I am not a fan of parking a kid in front of a television for hours at a time.

I heard something about a boy whose mom let him watch TV for six hours a day. Six hours! Mommy watches about an hour of television at a time, and definitely not every day. Mommy and Daddy generally prefer movies. The only time six hours of TV a day is acceptable is when you are completely taken apart by a bad case of the flu and need to be distracted. Apart from that, there is just no reason to watch that much.

I guarantee that little boy uses the phrase “I’m bored” at least once a day. You know why he’s bored? Because he has no idea how to entertain himself. He’s going to be that kid who can’t focus in school because the information isn’t coming from a box. He’ll be miserable when he isn’t parked in front of the computer or TV. It just isn’t healthy. I’m not saying you can’t indulge every now and then – if there is a really good show on, I’m sure I’ll let you watch a little extra sometimes. But you have to allow yourself to get up and move, to look around, and to do things that don’t require electricity once in a while.

To the best of my recollection, I hardly ever said “I’m bored” when I was a kid. That’s because I knew I had books, toys, and games to enjoy when the TV wasn’t on. I hope you’ll be the same way. I’ll do my best to make sure you are!

Love,
Mommy

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Television

  1. Katherine Gallagher on said:

    You are going to be a super mommy! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

